Selling My PC and Gaming Accessories… the End of an Era

Earlier this month, I made it official. I’m no longer a hardcore PC gamer. Even though my PC hasn’t been hooked up since our move in July, and I haven’t played League of Legends or any other video game since December of last year, the possibility of me returning to my gaming ways, although unlikely, was always still there. Earlier this month, I posted my PC and all of my gaming accessories up for sale on craigslist and facebook marketplace. There’s no turning back now… Unless I buy a new setup!

This past Saturday, I sold one of my 23 inch widescreen gaming monitors for $100. Not too shabby, considering I bought it for $169.99 in July of 2014. For the past 5 months, the monitor hasn’t been doing anything except gathering dust in our closet. $69.99 for 3 solid years of gaming, it has definitely served me well. The process of selling it was quite simple too. All I had to do was set up an account with craigslist, post the specs in the description, and take some quality pics of it with my phone. I’d be lying if I told you all of those quality pics of my items for sale were taken by me… I had to enlist the help of my wife Karen since she is the guru of all things photo. Thankfully too, since photos are probably one of the biggest deciding factors for buyers when online shopping. Once she took photos of all of the hardware, all I had to do was copy and paste the info and pics to facebook marketplace. Double the exposure to shoppers with minimum effort. Once the potential buyer of my monitor expressed interest, we set up a time and met up at the local bank and exchanged the goods for cold, hard cash. Bam! That easy.

With those simple steps, I now have for sale:

  • my other 23 inch widescreen gaming monitor
  • gaming keyboard
  • gaming mouse + mousepad
  • gaming headset with mic
  • PC tower with upgraded graphics card (pretty dated now though)

It definitely helps to take good care of your products as you use them, increasing their resale value. And a huge plus if you happen to have some of the original boxes/packaging. I’m hoping now is a good time to be selling my items for those last minute Christmas shoppers.

Now all I have to do is sit and wait, and respond to any questions. If after a week or so there is little interest, I can knock down the price with one click of a button. I should be able to get a few more hundred bucks out of the stash, and if not, I’ll just lower the price with hopes of freeing up some more storage room in our closet!

Have you ever sold your used products online using craigslist or facebook marketplace? Have you ever bought used items using these services? What are your experiences with it so far? Any tips or tricks to get the most bang for your buck? Share in the comments below! And Merry Christmas!

6 thoughts on “Selling My PC and Gaming Accessories… the End of an Era

  1. Congrats on the sale! I’m thinking about this stuff now…I was never much of a gamer, but I have a massive amount of nostalgia for my nintendo systems (particularly the N64) that I’ve been taking them everywhere I’ve been since college. On the other hand, I haven’t actually played them in over two years, so I wonder if it’s worth keeping it around. Any suggestions on how to take that step and make the decision?

    Like

    1. Hey OMSC,
      Thanks for the comment! I think it’s time to pull the trigger and just do it, you said yourself you haven’t played it in over two years! It can sit around, take up space, and collect more dust, or hopefully you can get some cash out of it! I get the nostalgia part… But who knows, maybe they’ll make a n64 classic edition like they did for the original nintendo recently haha.

      Now that you mention it, I need to follow my own advice. I think I have an NES, super NES, n64, Xbox, and Xbox 360 all collecting dust at my parents’ house in storage. Yikes!

      Like

  2. This is something I’ve been debating for a while. I used to be an extremely hardcore gamer, originally on consoles, but then I found the beauty in building my own gaming rig and playing games on Steam. I was a popular member of many gaming clans, even forming my own for Left 4 Dead 2 group at one point!

    That was 5/6 years ago now, and it’s scary to think how quickly the time has passed! I still have my gaming rig, and although outdated, it’s held up extremely well! (again, props to taking care of it!)

    The thing is, since “becoming an adult”, meeting my girlfriend, getting engaged and buying a house – it’s like I’ve lost the passion for gaming. I used to sit up until 3am gaming, now I’m either reading blogs or thinking up ideas for making money. What’s happened to me!?

    And yes, I have sold on Facebook Marketplace. I’ve actually been doing this a lot recently. I’ve mentioned my experiences with this on the latest post on my blog, so feel free to check that out if you like.

    Like

    1. Ahh Steam, I was there went it all began with Counter-Strike back in the day haha. Good times! I also used to be a late night gamer. I wouldn’t say I’ve lost the passion for gaming… Perhaps I’ll return to the scene one day. Although that’d mean I’d need a new gaming rig! Dream job… Be a pro gamer? Haha one can wish!

      Like

      1. CS is something I was introduced to quite late on, as a result, I was awful! Didn’t seem to matter what server I joined, there were always pros managing to snipe me with ease! Yeah, I plan to return to the scene one day too, but I’ll need to watch my pennies with the Steam sales (especially the Xmas ones), they were always so damn tempting! I’m sure I’ve still got hundreds of games that I bought on sale which I never even got round to installing!

        Like

Leave a comment